Fire Fighters Association of Missouri
Archive | Joe Jennings RSS feed for this section

Captain Rick Johnson Retires

Johnson County Fire Protection District (JCFPD) Station 4 Captain Rick Johnson is hanging up his turnout gear for the final time this week after serving the District for 40 years. Captain Johnson began his service to the District in 1981 and worked his way through the ranks into his current position of Captain in the District’s Station 4 which is located just outside of Knob Noster. 

“Captain Johnson has had a great influence on numerous members of the fire service throughout his career and has always been a staunch advocate for public service,” said District Fire Chief Larry Jennings. “The District appreciates his dedication serving our organization and community over the past four decades.” 

Captain Johnson’s final day with the District is Thursday, September 30, 2021. He will be officially recognized for his service following the December meeting of the JCFPD Board of Directors.

2020 FFAM Equipment Grant

In 2019, the FFAM offered a reimbursable equipment grant program as a benefit for FFAM member agencies for the first time. Forty FFAM member agencies submitted applications for the total $3,000 available for the entire program and three agencies were awarded $1,000 grants in the inaugural year. With the exceptional number of applications in 2019, the FFAM Awards Committee, who is tasked with overseeing the grant application process and awarding the grant, requested additional funding for 2020.

The 2020 budget allocated $5,000 to be available for the equipment grant program. 32 agencies submitted applications for the 2020 grant with these agencies having budgets ranging from nearly no guaranteed annual funding to nearly $15 million. As the Awards Committee reviewed the applications, it was determined four $1,000 grants and two $500 grants would be awarded to at least partially fund the awarded projects.

The FFAM Awards Committee is proud to announce the 2020 FFAM Equipment Grant awards:

  • Fair Grove Fire Protection District, Fair Grove, MO – $500
  • Higbee Area Fire Protection District, Higbee, MO – $1,000
  • Matthews Volunteer Fire Department, Matthews, MO – $1,000
  • Paris Rural Fire Protection District, Paris, MO – $1,000
  • Park Hills Fire Department, Park Hills, MO – $500
  • Urbana Rural Fire District, Inc., Urbana, MO – $1,000

Begin planning your applications for the 2021 grant process. Applications are due May 1, 2021, with the award(s) being made on or before July 1, 2021. As a reminder, agencies must meet FFAM membership requirements which include being FFAM members for the grant application year and the previous calendar year. If your agency is interested in applying in 2021, you must ensure the agency is a 2020 and 2021 member. For more information on the FFAM Equipment Grant, visit

FFAM Awards at 2019 Convention

The FFAM Awards Committee is appreciative of everyone who submitted nominations to recognize FFAM members with 2019 awards from the Association. Each award was presented on Saturday, April 13, in Sedalia during the annual convention. Every nomination received were excellent and worthy of recognition in their respective categories. Again, thank you for taking the time to showcase and recognize the amazing achievements of our members.

The Awards Committee had the honor to present six Lifesaving Awards, Firefighter of the Year, Chief Officer of the Year and the Phil Sayer Lifetime Achievement Award.

Continue Reading →

2018 FFAM Convention Awards and Recognition

The FFAM Awards Committee thanks everyone who submitted nominations for the 2018 FFAM awards which were presented on Saturday, May 5, in St. Joseph during the annual convention. The nominations which were submitted were all excellent nominations worthy of receiving recognition in their respective award categories. These awards provide an excellent opportunity to showcase and recognize great achievements by our members.

It was an honor for the awards committee to present the following awards for 2018:

Life Saving Awards
Terry Plumb, Southern Stone County Fire Protection District
Ben Wolverton, Moberly Fire Department

Fire Department of the Year
Howell County Rural Fire District #1

Fire Fighter of the Year
Scott Nichols, Little Dixie Fire Protection District

Fire Chief of the Year
Darrell Wright, Chillicothe Fire Department Continue Reading →

Harvest the Fun! 2014 Missouri State Fair FD

sffd3The service provided by the Missouri State Fair Fire Department (MSFFD) for 2014 has come to an end. For the 52nd year, the MSFFD provided service to the 400 acre Missouri State Fairgrounds and the average 30,000 to 50,000 daily attendees. The completely volunteer staff for the MSFFD consisted of members from agencies from throughout Missouri, with a diverse background of career and volunteer fire fighting personnel.

The 2014 Missouri State Fair presented an unusual weather pattern for August providing a decent amount of soaking rain and mild temperatures however, the cooler than usual weather pattern did not hamper the workload for the only 11 day fully operational fire department in the United States.

The MSFFD responded to a total of 132 calls for service in 2014 (142 in 2013). These calls for service included 91 medical or trauma responses, 3 transfers from the fairgrounds to Bothwell Regional Health Center, and 5 miscellaneous fire responses which included a motor vehicle accident with injuries and a carbon monoxide incident. The MSFFD also provided 33 standbys for special events. In addition to calls for service, the first aid station located in the firehouse treated 240 patients (186 in 2013). Continue Reading →