Fire Fighters Association of Missouri
Archive | From Around The State RSS feed for this section

Firefighter Memorial

After the 2018 Firefighters Memorial Services in Kingdom City, Rhett Ketchum made a special request. Rhett had specifically asked Brian Zinanni if he could take his Daddy’s flag home with him and naturally Brian made it happen. His father, Jesse Ketchum was with the Memphis Fire Department and died on May 29, 2017, (non LODD). Pictured to the left is Brian Zinanni and Greg Wright helping Rhett Ketchum fold his Daddy’s flag.

Duenweg MO Volunteer FD Gets New Pumper

The Duenweg Missouri Volunteer  Fire Department has purchased a new 2017 new KME Commercial Pumper. The 2017 KME includes a top mount pump panel, a 1,000 gallon water tank and a 1,500 gpm single stage pump. Thanks, Chief Allyn Reding, Duenweg Missouri Volunteer Fire Department.

Cameron FD New Ladder Truck

The City of Cameron Fire Department accepted delivery of a new 78’ smart aerial in March of 2018. The aerial, a Rosenbauer Viper Ladder, was purchased from Rosenbauer South Dakota, LLC. The sale of the apparatus was made possible through Heiman Fire Equipment. The ladder is equipped with a 1,500 gpm waterous pump, remote control aerial, 750 pound tip load, and 1,250 gpm waterway nozzle. The purchase of the apparatus was made possible by a ¼ cent fire department sales tax passed by Cameron voters in April 2016. The Cameron Fire Department is a paid-per-call fire department responding to approximately 350 fire and emergency related calls per year. The department provides protection for the City of Cameron and 144 square mile Cameron Rural Fire Protection District with a total population of approximately 18,000 residents.

Cole County FPD 2017 Awards Banquet

The Cole County Fire Protection District held their 2017 annual service awards banquet. The annual event shows appreciation to the fire fighter’s for their years of service and dedication to the district.

There is another aspect that really stands out with the 2017 service awards. The District recognized six firefighters who have given 150 years of service to the district. The combined years of service of district personnel are over 1,300 years. This in itself shows the commitment to the district by its personnel in the aspects of training, call response and the rewards of helping others in their time of need. Continue Reading →

Bolivar City FD Earns ISO 2 Classification

The Bolivar City Fire Department (BCFD) is proud to announce that it has earned an ISO 2 Public Protection Classification (PPC) after the most recent evaluation, improving from the previous ISO 3 PPC. This PPC will take effect September of this year. BCFD received an overall score of 82.65 out of a total of 100 points, resulting in the ISO 2 PPC.

The men and women of BCFD strive every day to live our mission statement, “Our Family Helping to Serve and Protect the Lives and Property of Your Family.” Earning this ISO rating, is another validation that shows our commitment to our mission statement. Continue Reading →

Training with Johnson Co Missouri Fire Association

Pine Point Fire Training and Consulting, a Maine Based Fire Officer Training Company, traveled to Holden Missouri on March 17, to present an all-day seminar on Short Handed Firefighting for the Johnson County Missouri Fire Association. Over forty firefighters attended the program.

Herculaneum Fire Chief Retires

Fire Chief Bill Haggard retired after 35 years as Fire Chief of the Herculaneum Fire Department. Bill started as a Junior Firefighter in 1968. He joined the department as a volunteer in 1969 at the age of 18. Through the years he moved through the ranks as lieutenant, captain, assistant chief and on January 1, 1982 he assumed the position of fire chief. He is currently the president of the Jefferson County Firefighters Association and has chaired the annual Jeffco Fire Engine Rally for 25 years. He officially retired as fire chief on December 31, 2017. Bill will remain as a member of the fire department in a limited capacity.

Assistant Chief Chris Baker has been selected to serve as the interim Fire Chief until the department election occurs in June 2018. Chris started as junior firefighter and joined the department in 1996. He has served in the position of captain and has been the assistant chief since 2008.

The Herculaneum Fire Department thanks Chief Bill Haggard for his forty-nine years of service and dedication.

Mike Shelton Retirement – 40 Years of Service

Mike Shelton is retiring from the City of Riverside on July 2, after close to 40 years of service and almost 50 years in public safety. On Friday, June 29, at 6:00 p.m. we are having a little get together to honor Mike and his service. The Argosy Casino is hosting it for us in one of their ballrooms, there will be some light snacks and a cash bar for beverages. We have some presentations for him to put in his man cave at home. If there is anyone who wants to present something or speak please let me know at my below contact information. Or if you have memories you would like for us to put up on a slide show or a poster board etc. If you know someone that knows Mike please pass this along to them.


Gordon A Fowlston
Fire Chief
Riverside Fire Dept.
2990 NW Vivion Rd.
Riverside, MO. 64150