Fire Fighters Association of Missouri

Greetings From the State Fair

The State Fair Fire Department has another year in the books. I would first like to say, thank you to all of you who helped out with donations to the EMS division after our flood last winter. Without your support and generous donations we would not be able to provide the exceptional service that the fair and its patrons have come to expect from our organization. This year we have seen a total of 156 calls for service and seen 132 patrons who walked into our First Aid Station. I would like to thank SEMA, Kevin Tweedy, and DMAT for all of their assistance during the operation of the fair this year and hope to have you back next year. A big congratulations goes out to Terry Plumb of Southern Stone County Fire Protection District for being named the chief for next year and congratulations to Donnie Rogers on his last year as chief of the department.

Without the hard work and dedication of the personnel who come and work the fair each year, our operation would not be a success. I wish we could give an award to each and every one of you to show our appreciation. Special recognition this year was given to Kegan Wilson of the Johnson County Fire Protection District and Johnson County Ambulance District. Kegan was presented with the EMS of the year award for his outstanding commitment and dedication to the operation. Kegan has graciously stepped up and helped out with our training in the EMS Division the last two years and has obtained EMS CEU’s through his employer JCAD for all of the personnel who work the EMS division. Kegan also helped with the remodel of the First Aid Station by helping me remove the old cabinets and install new ones. It was an honor to nominate him for this award and to give him the recognition for going above and beyond in service to the department and the patrons of the fair.

Planning and work for next year’s fair has already started and I would like to invite you to come and see the operation or work with us at the fair next year.