Fire Fighters Association of Missouri

Randolph County Fire Award Dinner Held

Chiefs Award Winners pictured left to right are Northeastern R-4 FPD Terry Watkins and Westran FPD Brian Woods. Also pictured are Fire Marshal Tim Bean and Southeastern FPD Charlie Peel. Winner Higbee FPD Chad Crawford is not pictured.

Local firefighters, supporters and friends attended the Randolph County Fire Departments Award Dinner on Saturday in Moberly, an event recognizing those men and women who work tirelessly to protect local life and property.

Captain Charlie Peel of Southeast Randolph County Fire Department said the event is a chance to show appreciation for all the brave men and women who sacrificed their time and often risk their own lives for local communities.

“We wanted to take a break to make the volunteer firefighters feel appreciated for what they do,” Peel said. “All these firefighters in the county do an outstanding job and we try to reward them in some way. We can’t do it monetarily, but we try to through these awards recognizing them for a job well done.”

Moberly Fire Chief George Albert said while the firefighters were honored to receive the various awards, recognitions is not something they look for in the course of their duties.

Moberly Firefighters Trevor Stein (left) and Ben Wolverton (right) receive the Life Safety Award presented by the City of Moberly and MFD. Both firefighters were involved in the September 17, search and rescue of a young female during a residential structure fire.

“Firefighters very seldom look for recognition or anything like that,” Albert said. “That is not what we do our jobs for, but sometimes it is nice to get a little pat on the back and hear someone say thank you for the service they do and the time they put in.”

Awards were presented to firefighters for community service, appreciation, firefighter of the year and the chief’s award.

The community service award was given to firefighters who led community relations efforts and several local supporting individuals and organizations including Ricky Roberts, Ron Stuck, MFA Oil, Moberly Fire IAFF 2671, Ben Wolverton Cory Putnam, Ross Dut-ton, and Seth Truesdell.

Moberly firefighters Trevor Stein and Ben Wolverton were recognized with the Life Safety Award for their efforts in the search and rescue of a young girl during a September 17, house fire in Moberly.

According to reports, the firefighters entered the front of building and encountered heavy heat and smoke. They advanced to the kitchen where they approached heavy flames. Wolverton, while in the process of extinguishing the fire, was notified by Stein he found a victim and needed assistance.

Firefighter of the Year winners pictured left to right are Westran FPD Taylor Schemerhorn, Higbee FPD Will Clark and Northeastern R-4 FPD Tasha Pettit. Pictured far right is Missouri State Fire Marshal Tim Bean. Not pictured is Southeastern FPD’s Johnathan Wolfe.

Firefighters moved the patient outside where other firefighters began medical treatment until paramedics arrived. The patient suffered from second and third degree burns, and smoke inhalation.

State Fire Marshall Tim Bean and State Rep. Chuck Basye (R-Rocheport) were in attendance, as was Fire-fighters Association of Missouri President Ken Hoover.