Fire Fighters Association of Missouri
Archive | June, 2017

A Letter from FFAM Auxiliary

Wow, what a wonderful convention we just attended. Sedalia Sate Fair Fire Department did a great job of hosting the convention. The weather was not bad, a little chilly but nothing to stop a few firefighters. The contest games were furious again this year. Old friends had a chance to catch up and new friends were made along the way. How about our guest speaker, Dan Meers, “KC Wolf,” the Chiefs’ mascot on Saturday night? He is so inspirational, everyone enjoyed listening to his message.

The Auxiliary would like to thank everyone for the awesome support we had all weekend. Thank you to everyone who brought in items for our silent auction and alcohol for the booze raffle. There were so many great items for this years silent auction. A corn-hole game made and donated by a firefighter from Little Dixie FPD, two tables made and donated by FFA Chaper in Paris, a Branson getaway basket from Southern Stone, a fire truck decorated and donated by Galt, home decor items, and so many other great items the list goes on and on. I last heard we made close to $2,200 from the silent auction. We also made about $550 from the items we had for sale such as the jewelry, auxiliary T-shirts and more. We raised aver $500 from the booze tub raffle. Everyone dug deep again this year to help the Auxiliary raise money. Which we will later decide who will receive a donation(s) to assist with fire related services. If you know of a deserving organization please let us know. Again thank you to everyone, we could not do it without each of you. Continue Reading →

Auxiliary Minutes – May 2017

2017 FFAM Convention Meeting

Sunday, April 23, 2017

Meeting called to order by President Diane Hanes at 9:03 a.m. Colors were posted by Warrenton FD Auxiliary. Joyce Thompson, Kearney Fire and Rescue, read invocation A Fireman’s Life by Daniel Driscoll.

Introduction of Officers

President Diane Hanes, Galt FD; 1st Vice President Jessica Miller, Norborne FPD; 2nd Vise President Theresa Cox, Wentzville FPD; Secretary/Treasurer Sheri Berendzen, Cole County FPD; Historian Chris Slaughter, Warrenton FD; Sergeant at Arms Ann Jones, Madison West Monroe FD, absent (Joyce Thomson, Kearney Fire and Rescue, filling in for Ann for the meeting). Continue Reading →

NVFC Update – May 2017

Plans were put into place with an approved budget in 2016 to attend the Spring Meeting of the National Volunteer Fire Council in Washington, DC, April 6-8. This included a day on Capital Hill on April 5. This was a six day commitment with travel but planned to be completed. In week six leading up to finalizing all plans and reservations it became clear that Washington could be totally occupied with affordable care, hacking, finalizing appointments, immigration, and global relationships. We held off until week four and a firm deadline of proceeding with or cancelling the trip. A key focus was to spend a day on the hill plus the NVFC meeting. On conferring with President Hoover I expressed my concern that access to key congressional staff could be very limited if not at all. An office aid versus a government affairs staffer would likely be my only available contact and depending on the day, I could be left talking only with the receptionist? I had also just discovered no rooms were left within the NVFC rate block of $265 and the host hotel was full. The next option was another hotel one mile away at $350 per night plus 16% tax. President Hoover and I agreed to cancel the trip due to probable lack of impactful access and conversation with the congressional offices at this time. The added hotel cost was not in budget either and sealed the decision. Continue Reading →

Fire Prevention Poster Winners – Don’t Wait Check the Date

First and Second Grade

  1. Jayla Thomas – Union FPD
  2. Lilly Green – Union FPD
  3. Tucker Jones – Iberia Rural FPD

Third and Forth Grade

  1. Eli Schmieder – Union FPD
  2. Calvin Brune – Union FPD
  3. Macey Shatzer – Paris Rural FPD

Fifth Grade

  1. Skylar Bennett – Galt FPD
  2. Trenten Bailey – Union FPD
  3. Bridgette Hammeken – Union FPD

Until Next Year

Why is it that you anticipate, plan, scheme, prepare and generally run yourself about half-way past crazy to make sure an event is ready and then before you know it, the event is over? On behalf of the planning committee who worked to make this year’s convention successful we say, thank you for your patience and attendance. For those of you that have hosted in the past, you know how frustrating and rewarding the process can be, but in the end the good times we have far outweigh any of the perceived “concerns” we had in the planning stages. Many of you pitched in and assisted the committee at various times during the convention and even if we didn’t thank you at the time, your assistance was appreciated and you helped us provide a successful event.

This year was no exception to the fine tradition of conventions with fun had by those attending, competitive battles won and lost, notable awards being presented, scholarships awarded and maybe the best part, reconnecting with old friends and making new ones. Sedalia and the Missouri State Fairgrounds were again a fitting setting to host the event as the FFAM has deep roots planted from the many years of service to the fair and has forged lasting relationships across the Sedalia area.

We hope those of you that were not able to join us this year will mark your calendars and make the effort to join the group in Chillicothe in 2018. I know next year’s host is already working hard to put together a worthwhile convention for all. To those of you that were able to join us this year please help spread the word about the event and encourage other members of your agency or perhaps your neighboring agencies to take part next year.

2017 FFAM Convention Contest Winners

FFAM Scholarships

Hello FFAM members. I hope all is well with you and your departments.

At our annual convention the committee had the privilege of awarding five scholarships to our members and the winners are as follows: Cameron Lauber, Johnson County District 2; Maddison Breid, Madison West Monroe Fire Protection District; Kayla Littrell, Duenweg Volunteer Fire Department; Cole Allen, Duenweg Volunteer Fire Department.

Continuing Education

Shelby Phifer, Southern Stone Fire Protection District.

Please congratulate these members and wish them the best in their future.

2017 FFAM Convention Awards and Recognition

Chief Robert Looper, Holt Community Fire Protection District.

The Awards Committee was honored again this again this year to process, evaluate and assist in the selection of awards for many of our deserving members. We had several nominations for the award categories we recognize, but there is always room for more. The awards given this year were: Continue Reading →