Fire Fighters Association of Missouri
Archive | February, 2017

An Update from the 1st Vice President – January 2017

Happy New Year to each and every FFAM member. We made it through another year, and I look forward to what we have coming at us in 2017. A new President, a new Governor, new Chiefs, new Board Members, so we as members need to take this time and build new friendships, network, and promote what our great organizations does throughout this great state. Continue Reading →

Recognition and Awards Time!

As we move closer to the 2017 convention we also move closer to the February 28, deadline to submit award nominations. The Awards Committee evaluates nominees to determine who may be given the appropriate recognition during the convention for their actions and contributions to the fire service.

The task given the Awards Committee is completely driven by the nominations submitted by each of you, yes that includes you! Each of us works with or knows of someone or an agency that is deserving of one of the various awards. The award categories are: Chief Officer of the Year, Fire Department of the Year, Firefighter of the Year, Life Saving Award, Meritorious Action, Youth Program Award and the Phil Sayer Lifetime Achievement Award.

Detailed explanations of each category and nomination forms with instructions are available at

Scholarship Update – January 2017

Hello FFAM members. I hope everyone had a blessed Christmas and a Happy New Year.

So has your high school senior thought about going to college or have you thought about going back to school yourself? The FFAM offers two different scholarships one that is issued to high school seniors going on to college or a vo-tech school and one that is a continuing education scholarship for anyone wanting to go back to school including us adults. This is a great benefit the FFAM offers to its membership!

The applications can be found online on the FFAM website. Go to and click on the committee tab at the top of the page, then scroll down to the scholarship tab. On that page you will find the rules and the applications for both scholarships. The deadline for the applications is February 28. Don’t hesitate to apply, you never know if you will get a scholarship or not unless you apply. Continue Reading →

Convention 2017…We Want You There!

Now that we have made it through the busy holiday season it’s time to think about the spring weather and getting together with our extended “fire family and friends.” What better way is there to reconnect with fellow fire service related people than attending the Annual FFAM Convention?

Convention 2017 planning is in full swing and we are starting to finalize plans in hopes of making this the best convention yet. Mark your calendars now for April 21-23 and plan on joining us on the beautiful grounds of the Missouri State Fair. You will have the opportunity to reconnect with old friends and make new ones. We are working on an opening ceremony with a little extra flare so if you have a color guard or even just a department flag contact Shelby Phifer and let her know if you would like to participate and be represented at the convention. Continue Reading →

JCFPD Personnel Recognized for Their Service

Front row (left to right): Donald Bowers, Stacy Solsberry, Travis Reid and Joshua Teaney. Back row (left to right): Chief Larry Jennings, Steve Runyon, Nathan Deuschle, David Short and AC Dee Bennett (not pictured – Chuck Heiss)

On Tuesday, December 13, 2016 the Johnson County Fire Protection District recognized nine of their members in honor of milestone anniversaries or service to the District. A reception honoring the group was held following the regular board of directors meeting. Those honored were: 5 years – Donald Bowers, Travis Reid, Stacy Solsberry and Joshua Teaney; 10 years – Nathan Deuschle and Matt Owsley. Steve Runyon was recognized for his 15 years of service and David Short was recognized for 20 years of service. Chuck Heiss was honored for his retirement after 23 years of service, but he was not able to be present for the ceremony.

Pacific Fire Protection District

Here at Pacific Fire Protection District we’d like to announce the completion of our new training facility. The training tower was paid for by a bond issue that was voted and approved by the public. The tower was built by Wachter and American Fire Training Systems using shipping containers. The internal components were assembled off site. Once the containers arrived, all that needed to be done was to lift the containers into position and weld into place. The tower has several features including: built in forcible entry doors, confined space rescue, internal walls that can be shut or opened depending on the training, repelling anchors on the roof, stand pipe and internal sprinklers, burn room, RIT Training, overhaul training set up in the roof area, basement and window bailout.

Thank you for your time,

Joshua Smith
PFPD Engineer/EMT

Knob Noster Fire Department Top 3 Awards

In an effort to maintain attendance and interest in the Fire Department activities, KNFD keeps records of all PR events, responses, and training activities.

This award is presented to the top 3 members in the department that show dedication and commitment to all events in 2014 and 2015.

Top 3 Awards presented to:

Chief Rick Johnson

Captain/EMT Ben Fundaburg

Captain/EMT Steve Ashbridge

Southern Stone County Fire Protection District

The board of directors accepted the recommendations for officer promotions. From left to right; Battalion Chief Dawn Brose South, Station Two Captain Brad Snyder, A Shift, Station One Captain Chris Johnson, B Shift, Station One Captain Joe White, Station 15 Lieutenant Robert Weidknecht, and Station 15 Captain Mike Riepl.