Fire Fighters Association of Missouri
Archive | June, 2016

2016 FFAM Convention Photos

Some photos from the Annual FFAM Convention.


History’s Corner – May 2016

hc2Any readers of the FFAM newsletter who have followed any of the articles I have published over the last several years know that I am a native of Missouri and grew up in O’Fallon, near St. Louis, in St. Charles County. When I was growing up there, it was a community of around eight hundred people and lots of dogs and cats. Everyone knew everyone, even down to the kids, dogs and cats.

The railroad was the real catalyst for the formation of the town. The North Missouri Railroad Company was incorporated in March of 1851 to build a railroad from St. Charles to the Iowa line. The North Missouri subsequently passed into the hands of the Wabash Railroad Company. In 1853, John O’Fallon was the president of the board of directors of the railroad. Anyone care to guess where the town got its name? Continue Reading →

Retirement Announcement: Chief Robert L. Creed

FFAM_2016-May-Jun-small33On April 30, 2016 Chief Robert L. Creed will retire from the Moberly Fire Department. Chief Creed has served the citizens of Moberly for 30 years. Prior to starting his career with the City of Moberly, Creed served three years in the US Army.

Chief Creed began his career with the City of Moberly Public Works Department on April 24 1986, and on August 2, 1987 he transferred to the fire department and began his career as a firefighter.

Chief Creed promoted up from Firefighter, to Captain, Assistant Chief, and Interim Fire Chief in 2009, before being appointed as Fire Chief in February 2010.

During his career, Chief Creed also served as the Moberly/Randolph County Emergency Management Director from April 2005 – September 2015. Continue Reading →

A Letter from the Auxiliary President

FFAM_2016-May-Jun-small24As your president for the past two terms, I wanted to take this opportunity to thank each of you for allowing me to serve. It has been a very busy four years and I believe we have grown as an organization to keep up with the ever-demanding changes with how organizations manage documents and communications via the internet, social media, etc. We’ve also formed a few committees to help spearhead several events that needed better management overall. Continue Reading →

Auxiliary Minutes – May 2016

April 29, Convention Meeting

Meeting called to order by President Chris Slaughter at 5:01 p.m.

Introduction of Officers

President Christina Slaughter, Warrenton FPD; 1st Vice President Diane Hanes, Galt FPD; 2nd Vise President Susan Voss, Beaufort-Leslie FPD; Secretary/Treasurer Theresa Cox, Wentzville FPD; Historian Sheri Berendzen, Cole County FPD; Sergeant at Arms Jessica Mille, Norborne FPD.

Old Business

Roll call was completed by Jessica Miller resulting in nine departments, thirteen members and one guest present.

Theresa Cox reported as of 4-29-2016 the Auxiliary has $2,540.60. The 2015 financial records are available at the front head table for viewing. Angela Fields, Paris FD made a motion to accept the Treasurers’ Report, seconded by Sheri Berendzen, Cole County FPD. All in favor (delegates only), no abstentions, motion passed. Continue Reading →

Help the Missouri State Fair Fire Department

The Missouri State Fair Fire Department (MSFFD) provides fire and medical response during the Missouri State Fair. The MSFFD is operated by members of the Fire Fighters Association of Missouri. The MSFFD is the only fully operational fire department in the United States that operates for only eleven days a year. The department is staffed with seventy-five dedicated volunteers twenty-four hours per day throughout the State Fair providing fire suppression and advanced life support emergency medical services. Continue Reading →

2016 Fire Prevention Poster Winners

1st – 2nd Grade
1. Chesni Jones – New Have Berger Fire Department
2. Isabelle Plemmons – Iberia Rural Fire Protection District
3. Ruth Shackelford – Galt Fire Protection District

3rd – 4th Grade
1. Elizabeth Shackelford – Galt Fire Protection District
2. Hanna Vassalllie – Beaufort Leslie Fire Protection District
3. Maya Sheible – New Haven Berger Fire Department

5th – 6th Grade
1. Madelyn Wheeler – Paris Rural Fire Department
2. Emily Delgado – New Haven Berger Fire Department
3. Doya Allnutt – Galt Fire Protection District

Continue Reading →

2016 FFAM Convention Awards and Recognition

The FFAM Awards Committee was pleased to be tasked with the responsibility of evaluating the various award nominations received in an effort to select the final recipients. This task is not always as easy as it may appear from the outside as many qualified nominees are presented, all largely deserving of an award. As with many things in life there can at times only be one selected to be the “winner” and that is where the process becomes more difficult. By all means we prefer to have numerous nominees so we can attempt to recognize as many of Missouri’s fire service as possible and we approach the task very seriously. Continue Reading →